Energy Ownership

CBC on House Energy and Commerce Committee

There are seven members of the Congressional Black Caucus on the House Energy and Commerce Committee.

The House Committee on Energy and Commerce is the oldest continuous standing committee in the U.S. House of Representatives. It was originally established in 1795 to regulate interstate and foreign commerce.

Today, the Committee has the broadest jurisdiction of any authorizing committee in Congress. It legislates on a wide variety of issues, including:

  • health care, including mental health and substance abuse

  • health insurance, including Medicare and Medicaid

  • biomedical research and development

  • food, drug, device and cosmetic safety

  • environmental protection 

  • clean air and climate change

  • safe drinking water

  • toxic chemicals and hazardous waste

  • national energy policy

  • renewable energy and conservation

  • nuclear facilities

  • electronic communications and the internet

  • broadcast and cable television

  • privacy, cybersecurity and data security

  • consumer protection and product safety

  • motor vehicle safety

  • travel, tourism and sports   

  • interstate and foreign commerce

The Committee also oversees several federal departments and agencies, including:

  • Department of Health and Human Services

  • National Institutes of Health

  • Food and Drug Administration

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  • Indian Health Service

  • Environmental Protection Agency  

  • Department of Energy

  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission

  • Federal Energy Regulatory Commission    

  • Federal Communications Commission

  • Federal Trade Commission

  • Consumer Product Safety Commission

  • Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

  • Department of Commerce

  • Department of Transportation

  • Department of Homeland Security  

Yvette D. Clarke NY 09 Vice Chair

Yvette D. Clarke NY 09 Vice Chair

Bobby Rush IL 01 Chair, Energy Subcommittee

Bobby Rush IL 01 Chair, Energy Subcommittee

G.K. Butterfield NC 01

G.K. Butterfield NC 01

Mark A. Veasey TX 33

Mark A. Veasey TX 33

Robin Kelly IL 02

Robin Kelly IL 02

A. Donald McEachin VA 04

A. Donald McEachin VA 04

Lisa Blunt Rochester DE 00 At Large

Lisa Blunt Rochester DE 00 At Large

Norris McDonaldComment